Upcoming Events


Past Events

A guide for complete transportation: Arizona’s new HDM
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
webinar

In May 2016, Arizona DOT issued their long-awaited Complete Transportation Guidebook, which they view as a conversation about sustainable transportation. It includes tools for local partners to work and plan with ADOT on flexibility in speed and other roadway design elements, interacting with other modes of transportation, and more emphasis on complete streets than had been previously present in their official publications. This guidebook recognizes that lane widths and other design standards should be different in dense urban settings than in rural areas with little development. But their “main lines” often become “main streets” when they come into cities and towns, so the same road be built differently to meet the community context.

Summer 2016 Community of Practice
July 27-28, 2016
Denver, CO

SSTI’s summer 2016 Community of Practice meeting will be held July 27-28, 2016 The meetings focus on peer-to-peer interaction between CEOs of state departments of transportation. These meetings allow attendees to share ideas and learn from one another’s experiences leading state DOTs. The meeting is open to state DOT CEOs and is by-invitation to others. For more information, contact Eric Sundquist, erics@ssti.us.

Revolution in project selection: Virginia DOT SMART Scale
Wednesday, July 20, 2016, 2:00 PM Central (3 pm ET, 1 pm MT, Noon PT)
Webinar

The first round of Virginia’s groundbreaking project-selection process, SmartScale, has just concluded. It was not only a technical success in ranking projects across modes and regions, but was also a political success, satisfying critical stakeholders including legislators. Even before any of the projects were awarded, the process resulted in creative thinking and right-sizing that saved millions of dollars. After a few improvements, including a platform for assessing accessibility that will be available to practitioners across the state, SmartScale’s second round is scheduled to begin later this year.

2016 DOT Sustainability Network
June 14-15, 2016
Nashville, TN

Tennessee DOT and SSTI hosted a meeting for senior state DOT staff with key responsibilities for sustainability. The meeting both explored topics related to implementing sustainable practices and other topics suggested by the sustainability directors network. If you or someone in your organization is interested in attending future meetings, contact Eric Sundquist, erics@ssti.us.

Big data and transportation solutions in Northern Virginia
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Webinar

Anonymous GPS data can now let planners and transportation providers better understanding trip-making patterns without relying on surveys, traffic counts, or travel demand models. Join us to learn how SSTI used the data to find opportunities for managing demand and improving connectivity through relatively small investments in Northern Virginia.